#1. Your response to everyone’s favorite question: “And why are YOU still single?”

I have a secret to let out. Wait for it…

I never had a boyfriend! HAHA! 😉

image

 

Fortunately, in my 24 years of existence in this fallen world, I have never been in any formal, intimate love relationship with the opposite sex.

Let me clarify my statement.

Fortunately, because I believe that I am not yet my best person for the man I was planned to meet, greet, date, marry, worship God with and grow old with. If I may have met God’s Best or ventured out into any relationship, I would end up myself and the other party broken, hurt, exposed and vulnerable.

24 years of existence, yes of course, that’s a fact. I am one of those women people tagged as “NBSB” (in urban Pinoy dictionary termed as No-Boyfriend-Since-Birth). I am proud of it. 😂

Fallen world. Yes, as a Christ-committed follower, I believe that the world we are living in has fallen, slowly decaying in all aspects. Since the fall of the first couple to walk on earth (I am talking about our great-great-great-to-many-exponents parents, Adam and Eve), the world has begun aching because of sin. Include in these many manifestations of this fallen character are broken relationships and selfish love. The world aches and groans for the Day when it will be redeemed again. As such, I do not expect for a perfect life. We live in a fallen world.

Formal, like the old-fashioned, traditional, biblical, meet-the-parents-first kind of relationship. I think I already got my point across here. 😉

Intimate, not limited only in the sense of having physical closeness and union, but intimacy for me encompasses all fabric that weaves a person’s character. I can be intimate emotionally and spiritually with a man as much as I can physically.

Love. Just hearing this word sends giggles and smiles across people’s faces. Who have not heard of love? Love is the very reason why we still live, why we can still wake up to see the grand Creation of God, why we belong to families and relationships. Love is the selfless outpouring of oneself into someone or something with the end goal of inuring to the benefit of the object where the love is given to. If I would refer to the most basic yet complete definition of what love is, I would look up to the Bible which reads as this:

1 Corinthians 13:1-7 If I make use of the tongues of men and of angels, and have not love, I am like sounding brass, or a loud-tongued bell. And if I have a prophet’s power, and have knowledge of all secret things; and if I have all faith, by which mountains may be moved from their place, but have not love, I am nothing. And if I give all my goods to the poor, and if I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it is of no profit to me. Love is never tired of waiting; love is kind; love has no envy; love has no high opinion of itself, love has no pride; Love’s ways are ever fair, it takes no thought for itself; it is not quickly made angry, it takes no account of evil; It takes no pleasure in wrongdoing, but has joy in what is true; Love has the power of undergoing all things, having faith in all things, hoping all things.

Relationship. Like love, we could come up with various ways to define relationships. But for me, it can be compared to a two-way street where two people are both moving forward because they are respecting each other’s lanes. A healthy relationship is one that portrays generosity and grace. It is selfless, sacrificial and true.

And lastly, the opposite sex. Being the Bible as the first and final authority in my life as a believer in Jesus Christ, I believe and hold on to what the Scriptures uphold. A man is to be united with a woman. It parallels the same marriage that God intends with Jesus and the Church.

I think I said much than what the #1 question warranted.

image

I am single because I am waiting for you, my God’s Best. At the best time God ordained, we would both know. ❤

Love, 

Kathy

 

 

 

