Several hours ago, we kissed goodbye year 2015 and welcomed year 2016 with lots of good cheer and hopes. And just as we usually do every dawning of a new year, we try to assess what had transpired in the 365 days that occurred to us and try to list down the goals we want to achieve for the next 366 days.

My devotion this morning speaks about new beginnings in His spoken Word as God directed me to study.

I don’t know what 2016 holds but I trust God’s spoken word. That God has a plan for me that is meant to prosper me, give me hope and future. I can trust my life and future with Him. He holds it all together.

Compared to the previous years, this welcoming of the new year was different for me. To be honest, I am having a hard time assessing and looking back on what happened with my 2015. Why?

My mother lost her battle to stomach cancer this 2015.

It seemed to me that every time I will try to list down the things to be grateful for in 2015, the very sad memory of my mother’s passing colors the whole facade of my mind. And then I just stop thinking because painful emotions will just quickly follow as the tears in my eyes usually do.

But God remains faithful and true to me. During those many months that I seem to just let my life drift away with meaningless routine, God remained. He chased me unrelentingly.

And now I am here, boldly writing about these things!

image

And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. (Genesis 1:3) God’s spoken word can be described in two (2) words:

TRUE. God spoke and it came to pass! If God says, it will happen. He who caused the earth to become into being from nothing can also cause all that I need to come into being even if I don’t see it now yet. He is faithful to fulfill His promises.

You see, I realized that I have dreams that God planted in my heart that I have buried to forgetfulness as I don’t see it now with my eyes that they will be fulfilled. This verse spoke to me in many ways possible to dig down on those buried dreams and pray for them once again to God.

POWERFUL. God is God. He was there already in the beginning of time. No one created God. His Spirit is already hovering the formless waters from the beginning. The earth was without form and void. He just said the word, and everything came into existence.

image

And God saw everything that He had made, and behold, it was very good (Genesis 1:31). God called everything He made GOOD seven times in this 1st chapter about creation (verses 4, 10, 12, 18, 21, 25). Good means perfect and lacking in nothing. God made us good!

And the Lord God took the man and put him in the garden of Eden to do work in it and take care of it ( Genesis 2:15). We have a work to do. That is the reason why God places us in situations and places He wants. It is God who decides where to put us. My job and your job is to work and keep in the place God has placed us so now.

Lord,

This new year holds many things for us. For You are God, our Creator. There is nothing we will lack for everything comes from You. Bless You God for You made everything out of nothing. We cling Lord to Your spoken word and believe.

We thank You for our life! You are good all the time!

In Jesus’ Name, Amen. ❤

 

Have a blessed new year,
Kathy

