Have you tried counting your blessings?

I have heard that line so many times. But honestly, I have never thought of doing it literally in my life until this verse came to me:

2 Corinthians 9:6 Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously.

The author of this letter is Paul. And he is simply saying to the reader: “You reap what you sow.” However, he even qualified it by distinguishing between sowing sparingly and generously.

Meditating on this verse and the succeeding verses, it has helped me digest the message God wants to impart to me by breaking it down into chunks of questions.

What is sowing?

Sowing means to plant, to work or labor on or to invest resources on.

Am I sowing? What am I sowing?

I have realized that each one of us is sowing something or somewhere. We may not be aware of it but that is how life goes on. It is a cycle of giving and receiving, of sowing and reaping. Personally, I am sowing in my family, friends and officemates. I am sowing them for Christ.

How am I sowing?

I have realized that I was sowing sparingly and not generously. I only give just a percent of what I have, what I am. I am not bountiful in my giving.

I realized that what hinders me from giving out and losing everything for the sake of Christ is fear. Fear of being rejected.

But God promised that he who sows sparingly will also reap thriftily. He who sows bountifully will also reap generously.

Knowing these then, how will I be able to sow bountifully?

I resolved to practice daily, practical acts like praying for people and caring for them genuinely. Share the gospel of Christ to them. Spend quality time with people. Extend an arm whenever needed. Go volunteer on activities in church or community. These simple acts, when done regularly become great acts when the aroma of thanksgiving arose to God.

You see, we may never need to count our blessings when we give abundantly as we will definitely go on counting eternally because we will harvest graciously.

Are you sowing? What are you sowing? Where are you sowing? How are you sowing? God, who in His graciousness gave us everything, also promised for us to reap bountifully if we sow unsparingly. Be a cheerful giver in whatever area God is touching you right now.

Lord, thank You for Your daily provisions. I pray Lord that You will help us recognize the field we are sowing and sow in it generously for Your sake. May it abound in grace and thanksgiving to Your Name. In Jesus’ Name, Amen!

Love,
Kathy

May God grant the godly desires of your heart ❤

