When I was a kid, I used to play around in the afternoon after school. I ran and jumped and skipped. I even fell and got wounded. But getting hurt never stopped me from running and jumping and skipping again. My mother cleaned my wounds and they left a scar that would evoke happy and good memories. 

When I grew into a young woman, I outgrew my childhood tirades in the playground. I went on life, studied and try to become an adult. I fell in love, even made friends and acquaintances. I stumbled and got wounded.

But no matter how I try to bandage and clean them now, still, there are some wounds that take tremendous amount of time to heal.

Time heals, they say.

Still, there are even some that I am still wondering until now if they will heal at all. Some, though the wounds have closed already, looking at the scars evoke sad, usually painful, memories that I would never want to remember. 

The normal cycle of life experiences includes ups and downs. When we stumble, we get up. That is normal. When we ran away too much, we will eventually get home. That is normal. 

There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven- A time to give birth and a time to die; A time to plant and a time to uproot what is planted. A time to kill and a time to heal; A time to tear down and a time to build up. A time to weep and a time to laugh; A time to mourn and a time to dance. A time to throw stones and a time to gather stones; A time to embrace and a time to shun embracing. A time to search and a time to give up as lost; A time to keep and a time to throw away. A time to tear apart and a time to sew together; A time to be silent and a time to speak. A time to love and a time to hate; A time for war and a time for peace (Ecclesiastes 3:1‭-‬8 NASB)

What is pain? How do we deal about it? And what does God say about our wounds?

In this blog series, we will do our best to unshackle the deep, dark crevices of human pain and discuss how most of us cope with it. More importantly, we will unbolt the reality of our scars and wounds and define them in the context of God’s love, mercy and grace. In the end, our objective is to realize that though we see ourselves as wounded and scarred all over, God sees us as “mended” beings. 

To prepare, let’s ask ourselves:

  1. When we talk about pain, what is/are the moment/s in our life that quickly comes to mind? 
  2. How do we usually deal with pain? 
