Home is where your heart is.

I am writing this to immortalize the first night that I am spending away from my family to live independently. I cannot identify what these feelings are churning inside my stomach–excitement, fear and sadness. 

I am excited to test if I am capable of living alone. My co-bloggers tell me that through this, I would be able to learn many life skills (e.g. washing clothes, cleaning, etc.). Not that I do not do chores at home, but there is a certain feeling of excitement when you know you are doing these to survive on your own. Since my mother passed away 2 years ago, I shouldered many responsibilities at home which she would have normally performed for us. 

I am feeling fearful as living alone entails that you have to be alert and vigilant. But I am quite confident that my new place is safe. And God will protect me always, I know.

I am feeling sad because I was used to living with my siblings. We sleep together in one room.

It is funny how I suddenly miss my family, even for a night. I miss the noise my siblings irritate me with while I am sleeping. I miss their nuisances. I miss home. 

Truly, home is where your heart is. 

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also (Luke 12:34 NIV).

