I am starting a blog series here called “Celebrate Recovery“. It is based on Abide, a devotional plan from my Youversion bible app.

As the plan info says, it is a 12-step Christ-centered approach recovery program that helps deal with our “hurts, habits and hang-ups”. As a person who is tired of the many psychological theories I read to cure all my issues in life, this is a good plan that will emphasize the loving power of Jesus on our road to recovery. It is based from the Bible. 

So for Day 1, I would like to personally title this devotional as, “Are You A Needy Person?”

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. (Matthew 5:3 NIV)

In Jesus’ famous Sermon on the Mount, the first “blessed” group of people that He described are those who are poor in spirit. What does this mean?

I like to personalize the Scripture and apply it to my life. Pondering with the verse, I have asked myself, 

Am I a needy person?

Because of the pride in our hearts, we may tend to cover up and answer this question negatively in front of other people. But in the silence of my heart, I saw the filth that has so stuck to my heart all these years. I knew that I am needy. I am a needy person. Even my pride cannot cover up the fact that I am need. I am in need of saving.

There are so many things in my life that I need to be saved from. I need to saved from bad choices. I need to be saved from the consequences of the poor choices I already made. I need to be saved from other people’s mistakes. I need to be saved from ruining my life. I need to saved from myself. 

It takes a brave heart to admit that you are a needy person. We all have needs. But still, despite our neediness, God calls us blessed! For He promises that we will inherit the kingdom of heaven!

How does this apply to my life? As a single person, I need saving from my own poor choices and limited discernment. By surrendering my life to Jesus, He will not only guide me in my singleness but also promises to bestow to me the kingdom of heaven! And I tell you, I do not need to die yet just to experience what heaven is like. Wherever the presence of God is, there is heaven. 

How about you? Are you a needy person? Allow God to supply all your needs. He wants your emptiness so you can be filled with His love and peace. 
Prayer:

Dear Jesus, I admit that I am a needy person. Only Your love can fill me. Supply my needs with your grace. I need You in my life, moment by moment. In Jesus’ sweetest Name, amen!

