​I am Gomer.

I am an adulterous and promiscuous woman who runs after my lovers. I have so many lovers, idols in my heart that I always run after to satisfy me. I am nobody’s wife; I have no husband to call my own. 

I am guilty of unfaithfulness to the Husband whom I still do not know fully. I will run and run, in search of the love that will complete my heart. 

When the Lord began to speak through Hosea, the Lord said to him, “Go, marry a promiscuous woman and have children with her, for like an adulterous wife this land is guilty of unfaithfulness to the Lord .” So he married Gomer daughter of Diblaim, and she conceived and bore him a son. (Hosea 1:2‭-‬3 NIV)

I am Hosea’s wife. 

I am unworthy. I don’t even know why a prophet of the God of Israel would marry me. I do not deserve a righteous man. A man of God deserves a righteous woman. I am no righteous woman. 

I am unfaithful. And not long after Hosea has taken me as his wife, I ran away again after my lovers. They are calling out to me. I am running after them. I am never satisfied by the warmth of kisses and tender touch of my husband. I want more than these. 

I bore my husband children. I gave him Jezreel, named as a remembrance of the massacre in Israel of Jehu. Jezreel represents the “punishment” that Hosea’s God will put upon Israel. 

I also gave him a daughter, Lo-Ruhamah. Her name means “not loved.” All my life I have been searching for love and meaning and still, I bore a daughter that tells me and my people that we are not loved. 

Yet, I still bore another son. He was called Lo-Ammi, meaning “not my people“. We have been rejected and shunned by God because of our sins. 

Yet the Israelites will be like the sand on the seashore, which cannot be measured or counted. In the place where it was said to them, ‘You are not my people,’ they will be called ‘children of the living God.’ The people of Judah and the people of Israel will come together; they will appoint one leader and will come up out of the land, for great will be the day of Jezreel. (Hosea 1:10‭-‬11 NIV)

I am Gomer, Hosea’s wife. 

I have heard these promises of God to my husband, Hosea. I knew how God promised to restore Israel and Judah despite its sinfulness. I heard how He will redeem us once again in this sinking mud we are in. 

I kept on running and running from my husband. I do not know any other life than these adulterous and unfaithful ways I have been living. I was stripped naked. I was denied of the love I have been seeking from my lovers. 

I have ran so far just to arrive in a desert of parched land. I am so thirsty. I am so dry. I tried to find my way back to all my lovers but my way is blocked by thornbushes. I am in a dead-end. I am walled in. I have no other place to go now. 

I have become so ugly and dirty in men’s sight. I have become a filth of the eyes. No eyes will ever behold me again. My lovers have forsaken me. They left me with nothing but a broken self and unclean body.

Therefore I am now going to allure her; I will lead her into the wilderness and speak tenderly to her.  There I will give her back her vineyards, and will make the Valley of Achor a door of hope. There she will respond as in the days of her youth, as in the day she came up out of Egypt. (Hosea 2:14‭-‬15 NIV)

Who will ever love me again? Who will accept me again? In my tear-stained eyes, I heard a familiar voice call out to me:

“Gomer…”

I looked around. I know my name, but, but who is calling such a lowly name? 

The Lord said to me, “Go, show your love to your wife again, though she is loved by another man and is an adulteress. Love her as the Lord loves the Israelites, though they turn to other gods and love the sacred raisin cakes.” (Hosea 3:1 NIV)

Hosea sought me again as I was in the beginning. He sought me like I was a bride, so pure and innocent. He purchased me from my lovers. He sought me in my drunkenness to my lovers and idols. He gave me back my worth. 

I am not a pleasant sight to behold. Yet, his eyes saw me and created beauty in my being. His love and mercy forged a beauty in my being. 

I am Hosea’s bride again. 

“In that day,” declares the Lord , “you will call me ‘my husband’; you will no longer call me ‘my master. ’ (Hosea 2:16 NIV)

My God bethrothed me to His love. He has called me His beautiful bride. I cannot remember now the filth that once smudged my long, white dress. He washed me clean. My God crowned me with His love. 

I am a Bride sought after. I am pursued by the love of Christ. He has purchased me in my sinfulness. He has called me His own. 

I am Gomer, Hosea’s wife. 

I am Israel, the Bride of Jesus Christ. 

