Insanity has been defined as doing things repeatedly, expecting different results. 

Has this been a case in your life? When I examine my hurts, habits and hangups in life recently, exposing them as the things that I am really powerless to overcome, I realized that in my own effort to overcome these things, I have been doing the very same things over and over again. These things only produce for me the same results over and over again. Yet, at the end of the day, I get so frustrated in myself for not getting the results I wanted. 

I know that a relationship I wanted to bloom really is not working anymore so I end up withdrawing and isolating myself from people. Yet at the end of the day, I find myself again desperately trying to cling to people who are outrightly rejecting me. It is insane.

I know that when these pangs of pain and gloom overshadow me again, I will try to comfort myself by browsing the internet. Yet at the end of the day, I will see myself again in unsuitable sites. Seeing these materials only worsens my despair and guilt for myself. It is insane.

Living with insanity is a hopeless case if I will continue to just live with it forever. 

Is there hope for people like me to be sane again? Where can I find the power to be whole in myself again?

These verses in Philippians produce the answer, the end to my seeking of a Higher Power greater than all my best efforts to cope:

that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. (Philippians 2:10‭-‬11 NIV)

for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose. (Philippians 2:13 NIV)

Do everything without grumbling or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.” Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky (Philippians 2:14‭-‬15 NIV)

Jesus not only saved me from my past, present and future sins but He also gave me the power to overcome the things I do not want to do anymore. His redeeming love on the Cross has purchased for me a brand new life of freedom. I only have to let Jesus’ pursuing love fill me.

Not until my only heart’s desire is to please God will I find the freedom that I am looking for. 

Not until I surrender to the power of salvation that Jesus Christ availed for me will I find the way to my wholeness and sanity again. 

Jesus is working in me the desire and power to do the things that please Him. The efforts do not and should not come from my strength but by the power and strength God gives me. I can be whole again in Christ.

Prayer:

Dear Jesus, thank You for Your love. Thank You for the power You have supplied us, purchased by Your blood on the cross. We will not live defeated lives because of your work in us. Help us to rely on you for our wholeness. In Jesus’ Name, amen!

