I have a confession to make: I love throwing questions to people. I really like it because I learn a lot from other people, their insights and thoughts. If you happen to belong to my inner circle of friends, you would certainly agree about this! I frequently ask random questions, be it a who, what, where, when, why and how. 

So, I was pondering how it feels then to be on the other side of the coin. Because it is very ironic that in how confident I am in asking questions, I am most of the time unsure in answering questions thrown to me, even those of myself! 

As a fun mental exercise, I thought of starting this blog series which I would like to call “Question-Me Fridays”. In here, I would try my best to answer your questions, anything under the sun! I may answer by responding to comments, through email or even by a separate blog post entry. 

To start off this week, I searched for a good question to answer. 

What advice would you give the ‘5-year-old you’?

If I can meet my 5-year-old-self right now, I will tell her to get as much sleep as she can. I will tell her how hard it is to get 8 hours sleep once she becomes a young adult professional. Knowing what a treasure sleep is, I will encourage her to take afternoon naps as much as she can. 

I will also encourage my younger self to play with the other kids in the neighborhood. Even if she will get scolded by her parents for playing outside the house, I will motivate her to socialize and make friends because she needs it later in life. I will ask her to learn how to communicate well and speak up her mind.

I will motivate my younger self to live on with life, even if she comes to the point where I am now, battling with my inner demons of depression and anxiety. I will tell her to cry if she must, or scream even. I will tell her that it is okay not to be okay. I will tell her to just continue looking to Jesus. 

I will also plead with my 5-year-old-self not to rush with love. I will tell her that her heart is very precious so that she would not give it away easily to every man that shows interest in her. I will tell her to move on and pursue healing, should she have her heart broken. I will encourage her to still believe in love eventhough there will be many times that the world will show her not to. 

Lastly, I will ask my younger self not to live with regrets. Life is too short and beautiful to be lived upon regrets. Live meaningfully. Love unconditionally. 

***************************

Do you have questions that you want me to answer? Keep them coming! 

>>Kathy ❤

